Day 20 – Math, Band and The Cure – what more could you want in life!

Standard

My person tonight who has made such a significant difference in my life is (S.B.). She was the new girl in grade 10 who joined Ms. Boyd’s honours math class and it was clear she was a friend to have. She had something about her, an out-going personality, a person who is just willing to be who she is. It hasn’t changed, (S.B.) is still that person today that meets everyone, is kind to all and talks and includes the stranger in whatever she is doing. She loves life by living it.

The year I met (S.B.) she was full of life and a person that everyone was friends with. I suspect if one was to reflect on junior high days, they would say (S.B.) was a person everyone enjoyed and it would not be a lie. (S.B.) was kind, she had, and still has, a quirky sense of humor, she is talented, smart, interesting, hard-working and most of all loyal. (S.B.) keeps people in her life. When you talk to her, she has her childhood friends from back east, the people she has met during her school time and then into her work career. She loves people and treats them well.

I have so many wonderful memories of afternoon school hang-outs eating ice cream, chips, making nachos and many other yummy foods at her house. The gang of us really did try to eat her family out of house and home. She had the parents that were easy going and went with life, they did not get overly worked up. They trusted their kids and in turn it made for good relationships. How lovely to see that she still has that with her parents now.

(S.B.) had a beautiful golden retriever and the nurture and care she gave to her family pet was unbelievable. Funny I still know what her lovely dog was called as it was that special. (RIP (S) dog). (S.B.) is the person who cares for all. She is a loving sister, aunt, daughter and friend. She goes above and beyond for all. Now if you ask anyone if she could drive standard back in the day – one might smile. Well she could drive standard but boy oh boy – that Hyundai Pony sure took a beating but we were all quite thankful as she was one of the friends with a car. How cool! (S.B.) had amazing taste in music and we learned about The Cure and many other bands foreign to this sheltered Victoria group. It was like she was born generations ahead of herself. She brought new music forward with her friends and shared her love with all.

I am truly fortunate as I was very selfish in my early 20’s. Yes it is becoming a bit of a theme (that may be a future therapy session). What I can tell you is (S.B.) always forgave me when I dissed her and lied about being busy so I could hang out with the loser people that I thought were cool. She was always willing to reschedule and connect at another time. In saying that, (S.B.) was not a push-over. She is a quiet person who is calm and sets boundaries but can do it with gentleness and strength. This is something I have admired my entire life about her. She has always seemed to know right from wrong and has that old soul presence and just lives a true life. Wow. How many can say they know someone like that or are that?

(S.B.) is hard-working and gives more to life and people than anyone I know. She is the person we all want as a friend and on our team. I have been lucky as we have had some very difficult friendship times but we have worked through them, overcoming significant issues. I am blessed as (S.B.) has given me the best parts of a friendship. She has shared her belief in me, her love, her compassion and her essence of just being a truly wonderful person. If ever there was a person I want to call my friend and I am excited to say is my friend, it is (S.B.). Thank you for years and years of friendship and here is to many, many, more happy, unique, fun-filled times. I love you greatly and am honored you have included me in your life (S.B).

I have included one of my favorite pictures of my friend (S.B.) Thank you for such fond memories. xo

scan0007

This is Day 20 of the 30 Day Blogging Challenge. If you want to follow along with all of us “challengers”, click on their links below. We appreciate you reading along with us. It is a super cool journey! Don’t miss out – there are still 10 days of amazing reading to come!

Liam ~ Natasha ~ Zita ~ Peter ~ Christine ~ Cliff ~ Hethr ~ April ~Karen ~ Kim

 

Leave a comment